Mobile phone vs camera images

The above 4 images were taken on my mobile phone whilst out taking pictures for the project. I took them as test shots before using my camera along with the off camera flash. I feel that the camera on the phone has captured the images well, picking up the highlights and shadows in the places that I wanted and also feel that the compositions in each image work well together.

These images are taken from the same place but with my camera. I don’t feel that they worked as well as the top images. I couldn’t seem to get the compositions or lighting as I wanted them.

Using a camera phone is a good way to take test shots when looking for places to take images but they can be seen as taking the easy way out as it takes the photos automatically. Camera phones are fairly sophisticated and have options to be used on different modes for use at different times such as slo mo, night time, panoramic as well as pro mode. Using a DSLR takes more effort and knowledge to obtain the images that you want.

Leave a comment